Live Review: Freeway Music Festival

Event Hinted at Exciting Future For Columbia Music While Raising Scholarship Funds
By Kevin Oliver | Monday, August 25, 11:13 am
In its second year, the Freeway Music Festival found its calling — presenting both the present and the future of Columbia's music scene, showcasing not just the current crop of local favorites but providing a glimpse at the next generation.
Music Feature

Scene Supporters (and Survivors) Mike and Danny Lyons Celebrate a Decade at New Brookland Tavern

Weathering the Storm
By Kyle Petersen | Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Apart from the massive and stately painted brick façade that announces the club’s name, the exterior of New Brookland Tavern is dominated by cheap plywood painted black to keep the sunlight out.
Music Feature

For Wooden Wand’s James Jackson Toth, Perpetual Motion Is the Only Constant

Sunday at Conundrum Music Hall
By Corbie Hill | Wednesday, August 27, 2014
James Jackson Toth doesn’t hold still for long. As the uncommonly prolific songwriter behind Wooden Wand, he has released a staggering amount of material — all since the turn of the millennium.
Sound Bites

Concerts in Columbia: Aug 28 - Sept 3

Drivin’ N’ Cryin’, Donald Merckle, Casting Crowns, Worker’s Comp Labor Day Festival
By Free Times | Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Melodically astute alt-rock trio The Fire Tonight.
Where It's At

Columbia SC Club Calendar: Aug 27 - Sept 3

By Free Times | Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Live music, Karaoke, Dance, Dj's
Club Life

Rebecca Keisler and Christian Trimmier at Carolina Pour House

By Christian Barker | Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Well, they have lost the monkey, which isn’t a bad thing.

Photo Galleries

Steely Dan at the Township

By Sean Rayford | Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Club Life | The Whig

By Christian Barker | Friday, July 18, 2014

SC Bands at SXSW

By Sean Rayford | Thursday, March 13, 2014

Columbia Concerts | Queens of the Stone Age

By Sean Rayford | Saturday, February 1, 2014

Columbia Nightlife | Pour House

By Christian Barker | Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Famously Hot New Year’s Eve | Tue Dec. 31

By Christian Barker | Friday, January 3, 2014

Columbia Nightlife | Carolina Ale House

By Christian Barker | Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Club Life | blue.

By Patrick Wall | Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Toro Y Moi | Columbia Museum of Art | Friday, Oct. 18

By Thomas Hammond | Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Club Life | Urban Outfitters

By Christian Barker | Thursday, October 10, 2013
Subscribe to Free Times Newsletters
Home Real Estate Classifieds Free Times Family Magazine | Rant + Blotter | Photos Movies | Archives Contact